WV Writers, Inc. - Established 1977
West Virginia Writers, Inc.
Serving literary interests throughout West Virginia

Home    |    Conferences    |    Contests    |    Membership    |   Merchandise    |    Resources    |    Donate

About WV Writers

Established in 1977, West Virginia Writers, Inc. is the largest all-volunteer, writers' resource and service organization serving literary interests in West Virginia.

We are founded on the fundamental principle that the written word is one of the most distinguishing characteristics of all human endeavors. Our aim is to expand and develop creative writing and professional opportunities for writers and to connect the state's writers with others in the literary community and the public at large.

WV Writers sponsors both an annual writers conference and an annual writing competition.

Membership Join/Renew

Membership Benefits Table
Click Table Above for Membership Benefits

Membership Options

Mission and Goals

  • Support and encourage serious writing activities within the writing community
  • Establish a networking system for writers
  • Promote writing as an artform
  • Give voice to our people and way of life
  • Expose the public, particularly our children, to the importance of writing
  • Encourage appreciation of the literary arts
  • Expand the horizons and deepen the appreciation of life, culture and communication among writers and all citizens of West Virginia.

Equality Statement

As an organization, we respect diversity, embrace inclusion, and will never endorse any discriminatory practices in any form toward any writer. We do not discriminate on the basis of political, religious, or other views. We're a group composed of a wide range of viewpoints and belief systems, and we like it that way. Your interests, viewpoints, and opinions are a vital brushstroke in the colorful landscape of literary life.

Contact WV Writers

    Upcoming Events

    January 2nd, 2024 to March 31st, 2024
    Last day to submit to the 2024 Writing Competition!

    June 7th to 9th, 2024
    Annual Spring Conference at Cedar Lakes in Ripley, WV. REGISTRATION IS NOW LIVE! The mail-in paper form has all the details regarding pricing for various days and member levels. Please visit https://form.jotform.com/240738325406051 to sign up electronically, or if you want to go old-school and trust the US Postal Service, you can mail that paper form with your payment to the address on it. And make sure to send in the Cedar Lakes Room and Board form (done separately and handled by Cedar Lakes).

    Officers and Staff


    To contact us email: westvirginiawriters@gmail.com | subject line: individual or topic; or use our online contact form.

    • President -- M. Lynne Squires, Scott Depot
    • 1st Vice President -- Cole Smith, Washington
    • 2nd Vice President -- Carter Taylor Seaton, Huntington
    • Treasurer -- Kara Starcher, Chloe
    • Secretary -- Amy Deal, Huntington
    • Parliamentarian -- Laura Jackson, Wheeling
    • President Emeritus -- Brad Mills, Charleston


    • Tim Huguenin, Newsletter editor
    • O. Hector Lee, Contest Coordinator


    WV Writers utilizes volunteer representatives from 10 multi-county regions of the state as a resource in each geographical area.

    • Region 1 -- Lisa Hayes-Minney (Clay, Gilmer, Braxton, Roane, Calhoun)
    • Region 2 -- Shannon Bennett Campbell (Pendleton, Randolph, Pocahontas, Webster)
    • Region 3 -- Cheryl Kula (Greenbrier, Monroe, Nicholas, Summers)
    • Region 4 -- Audrey Stanton-Smith (McDowell, Fayette, Mercer, Raleigh, Wyoming)
    • Region 5 -- Shelley Schiavone (Cabell, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo, Wayne)
    • Region 6 -- Betsy Allen (Boone, Kanawha, Putnam)
    • Region 7 – Rep Vacancy (Jackson, Mason, Wood, Pleasants, Ritchie, Wirt)
    • Region 8 -- John Harris (Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Ohio, Tyler, Wetzel, Doddridge)
    • Region 9 -- Julia Todd, and Lisa McCombs (Barbour, Harrison, Lewis, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, Taylor Tucker, Upshur)
    • Region 10 -- Tom Donlon, (Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral, Morgan)